A thousand blessings

Three times a week the staff at my school gathers for devotions and prayer.  This week for Thanksgiving we took time to celebrate and thank God for all He has done. “Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thessalonians 5:18).

Our devotion leader shared that we should also thank God for the hard things– the challenges, and difficulties we experience.  Everything God allows in our life is for our benefit.  Citing the book One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp, we were encouraged to make a list of 1,000 things –including, the things that were difficult and to thank God for them.

I have a small spiral notebook that I am listing my One Thousand Blessings as a reminder that God is with me all the time, not just the joyous times, but all the time.  I have listed thirty-five things/people/events for which I choose to be thankful.  Some of the items were easy to list: salvation, my husband, my sons, my folks, and my job.  Other things on my list were choices–intentionally written as a reminder that God was there in the midst of the pain, the sorrow, the tears. 

 I am drawn to the idea that my gratitude needs to be year round. 

Will you join me?  Find a notebook, use an app, make a list, not just the good, but the bad and the ugly too, everything that God has allowed in your life and find a way to say “thank you” to the God who loves you.  Maybe you will find 10,000 reasons —

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I worship Your holy name

The sun comes up; it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I worship Your holy name

You’re rich in love and You’re slow to anger
Your name is great and Your heart is kind
For all Your goodness, I will keep on singing
10,000 reasons for my heart to find

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I worship Your holy name

And on that day when my strength is failing
The end draws near and my time has come
Still my soul will sing Your praise unending
10,000 years and then forever more

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I worship Your holy name

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I worship Your holy name
I worship Your holy name
I worship Your holy name

Sing like never before
O my soul
I worship Your holy name
I worship Your holy name
I worship Your holy name

(10,000 Reasons ~~ Matt Redman)

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

