Serenity

The word itself lends the spirit to relax, to breathe deeplyserenity .
As I have mentioned, it has been difficult to find that peacefulness in my spirit lately. I don’t even like to write it down–it makes me sound grumpy and whiny–two traits I generally despise.
I have been reminded of the need to be still (Psalm 46). My husband, who truly knows me better than I know myself, will actually remind me to take a deep breath and relax and if that doesn’t work he has even sent me away to take a nap because I need serenity.
My life is full, busy, sometimes crazy, and yet I am called to “come away.” And he said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a desolate place and rest a while.” For many were coming and going, and they had no leisure even to eat (Mark 6:31 ESV).

I need Jesus. Simply put, I need the peace that He alone can bring. The same peace that can be found when I am alone with Him.

I once heard a story of a rich man who held a contest between two painters. The challenge was that they had to show serenity in a painting for him. When the day came to unveil their work for the rich man, the first man presented his picture. The canvas showed a beautiful pastoral scene with the sun shining on a meadow while birds flew in the crystal blue sky. The rich man was impressed.

The second man unveiled his painting and it showed a fierce storm and a small tree being lashed by the rain and the wind. Within the branches of the tree was a bird nest, where a mother bird sheltered her sleeping fledglings under her wing. The rich man told the second painter that his painting had won the contest. The first painter argued that there was nothing serene in the painting. The rich man replied that the serenity was seen in the bird’s nest. The young birds were at peace because their mother was taking care of them.

And so it is with me. My schedule may be crazy busy, but God is offering to “cover me with his feathers” (Psalm 91) and while I am protected there I will find rest.

Where do you find rest? Is it in a quiet corner with a good book? Is it in a coffee shop? Is it by the beach, on a mountain top? Wherever you find serenity make sure you go there, often. Allow the Holy Spirit to fill you and give you the rest you need.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

