Cancer

I have just learned that a dear and precious friend has advanced stage brain cancer. She is a fabulous, fun, intelligent, beautiful woman. I am wrecked.
Cancer stinks. There are no two ways about it. Cancer has taken my friends and my family and touched many more. I hate the disease. I find myself alternating between crying hard tears and calling out to God.

More than twenty years ago, my dear aunt Arlene was diagnosed with cancer. One of the verses my mom and I found during those months was Romans 8:26. “And the Holy Spirit helps us in our times of distress. For we don’t even know what we should pray for, nor how we should pray. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words” (NLT).

That is what I am feeling right now. I have no words. But the Holy Spirit does and it will intercede on my behalf. And on my friend’s behalf too.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cancer

  1. I so empathise with you – one of my closest friends had the same diagnosis last year – she is only 33 with two young children. I have found the psalms to be a great source of comfort and fuel for my prayers – they have given me an outlet for my grief and moved me to be able to see with eyes of faith the ‘but God’ factor. As a Church we have seen incremental miracles in my friend’ s life and she is still with us, when from time of diagnosis in October last year she was only given 3 weeks to live. Praying that you and your friend would know the comfort of God and that He would place in you the hope, the confident expectation of His goodness, in the midst of this difficult time. May He show Himself strong on behalf of you all and surround you with His tender care, fresh mercy and presence. Much love and prayers.

    • gretchenr17 says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so grateful for the God we worship. Psalms is definitely a go-to for comfort and courage. Blessings to you too.

Leave a Reply

