Seasons

The snow is melting here, which means all of the debris from the fallen leaves is now visible. When I look outside I find myself disgusted by the yuck and muck. Why can’t we just go from winter to summer? Why do we have to go through the mess of spring first?
I felt God smile as I thought this and then say to me, “It’s just like the Christian walk, ya know.” I realized He was right. When we accept Christ we are made white as snow (Isaiah 1:18). Once we take this salvation in and fully grasp it, we see the areas which need adjusting or cleaning up with God’s help. This is where the spring season begins.
Spring is crucial for a Believer. In order to grow as God designed us to grow, we need to get rid of the “debris” of our past lives– our old thoughts, actions, ideas– and replace them with new ones (2 Corinthians 5:17 and 2 Corinthians 10:5).
Summer, following the metaphor, is when we see the healthy growth and efforts we have made come to fruition as we continue to mature in our faith.
And finally, autumn comes, when we see the harvest of God working through us for His purposes.
Once more I see how God uses His creation to explain more about His character and plan for us.
I may never grow to love the mud and muck or spring, but I will choose to see it as a promise of the good that is to come.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seasons

  1. Binki says:

    Thank you for the reminder that God works through the much & yuck. I need this reminder every day. You have a wonderful way with words.

Leave a Reply

