Striving for steadfast

This past week has been spring break at my house. It’s been a wonderful time of no alarms, casual clothes, and visits with friends and family. Yesterday as I prepared for church, I felt myself growing anxious about returning to work and for my sons return to school. I tried to shake it off and focus on worship, but it seemed almost a Herculean effort to hear the words of the worship pastor and others as they sang.
Later as the evening began, I found myself again feeling anxious. Again, I cried out to God asking for a heart of peace. Philippians 4:6 came to mind, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything , by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” I also thought of the next verse, “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:7).
I found some peace as I let the truth of those words fall over me.
This morning I woke up and soon after felt the anxiety returning. However, this time I am determined to not let the sense of dread and worry overshadow a new day. If I do, I may as well go back to bed.
During my quiet time I saw this verse from James, “Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him” (James 1:12 ESV).
That’s how I want to live, striving for steadfastness in trials– real or imagined– and trusting in the very God who promises in Hebrews 13:5 to “never leave you or forsake you.”
God is steadfast– He is immovable, unshakeable, un-changing. He is the “Alpha, Omega, Beginning and End, my Savior, Messiah, Redeemer, and Friend” as the worship chorus goes.
I need Him. I need to operate during the day– and even as I sleep– as someone who is promised in Scripture to be given all I need (Philippians 4:19, 2 Corinthians 9:8) by a God who has everything.
So I strive. I strive for deep breaths as I go forward today, strive for joy and not sadness, faith and not fear, belief and not doubt, to trust the unknown future to a known God.
My prayer for you is that you will do the same.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

