Coffee

No, this is not an ode to that magical bean that can make cranky people nice in the morning.

I had coffee with a good friend last Friday. Our lives are busy and full of many things that have kept us from catching up until then.

Her mom is ill and now in hospice care. I asked how she was handling this last portion of time with her mom.
“God is meeting all of our needs and the cries of my heart.”

My friend shared how her mom is growing in faith and understanding of God’s character and how encouraged both of them are by His faithfulness.

She asked how I am doing lately. I smiled and held up my left arm to show her the words I recently had tattooed there. Beloved Believe.

After my struggles and difficult days I wanted something to remind me that God saw things differently from Heaven. The tattoo artist was going to place the words so they faced away from me, but I said they were for me to see and be encouraged by. My friend smiled, she has been there and understood.

After a couple hours, we left to go home and I left thinking of how full I felt. One cup of good coffee and a chocolate croissant were good, but the company and conversation were better.

Don’t put off your cup of coffee any longer. Call the friend you’ve been meaning to see, put that time on the calendar and don’t let anything prevent you from meeting. You will be the richer for it. (See Proverbs 17:17 and Hebrews 10:24-25 for more encouragement).

20140415-051509.jpg

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

