Doors and windows

In the past few months I have written about being unsure and about worry, fear, doubt, faith, etc. I have struggled with what it was that God wanted me to do, where He wanted my family to be, all of the things that go with “unknown.”
Today I woke with clarity. I felt light in my steps, confident in my walk, and sure that God had me. Nothing about my circumstances had changed this morning, only my perspective had changed. I felt at peace. Now, ten hours later my circumstances have changed–a bit drastically. I will not be working at the school where I have been these past two years. I sent a text to my husband and as soon as I finished my meeting with the head of the school.
This change in our circumstances helped clarify the next steps my family and I would take.
We will be moving two states away to start a new life. Our sons are “okay” or “fine” with this depending on which one you talk with about it. Neither my husband nor I have a job and we don’t have a home yet, but we have seen God make clear all the needed steps we have to take time and again in our marriage.
When we married we didn’t have jobs or a home to move into– God had it all taken care of within two weeks of our wedding. When we felt like God was prompting us to move to the Chicago area we didn’t have jobs or a place to stay, but within two weeks God had it taken care of again.
It’s not that I think God will work in the timetable of two weeks and “boom” things will come together. However that doesn’t mean that God cannot move that way.
I am excited to see what God has planned for us. He has us in the palm of His hand. (See Jeremiah 29:11-13 for more).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

