Thanks be to God

My family has arrived in our new state. It has been an exhausting, frustrating, emotional journey, but we are here. We have been covered in prayer and supported by so many, who came to help pack and spend time with us. We have even been blessed by unexpected gifts from friends– that can only be paid forward.
Throughout the past eight weeks my husband and have been discussing the spiritual battle described in Ephesians 6:12, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world, and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” It may seem extreme, but Scripture says the enemy is here to “steal, kill, and destroy” (John 10:10) in all sorts of ways. I have described our losses in previous posts. Yesterday proved this was no different.
While driving on the interstate, just twenty miles from our destination, the hood of our minivan flew up and hit the windshield. I was able to get off the road safely and no one was hurt. I was extremely rattled by the “what could have happened” and it took time to emotionally regroup. Our van presently sits in a towing yard until we can get it repaired. We may have lost some things but they are just that– things. My sons are fine, I am fine. My husband was rattled too, since he was driving our u-haul truck and was not there when it happened. But God is good. He protected us (Psalm 91).
Today my family went to the new church where we want to become involved and found more abundant and unexpected blessings from our new friends.
My day is one where I could lament the struggles or rejoice in the blessings, I choose to say “Thanks be to God” (1 Corinthians 15:57).

20140629-193508-70508075.jpg

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

