Not “super”

One of the hardest lessons in my life is that I cannot do it all. I grew up striving for excellence and a well-earned “atta girl” at the end of the day. This work ethic is fabulous when it comes to the career arena, but it can be debilitating when it comes to trying to “do it all.”
The more headway I thought I made while packing, sorting, and tossing, the more I saw as incomplete, unfinished, and undone. It was daunting. My oldest son said one day, “Mom, don’t look at what you have to do, look at what you have done.” Wise words indeed.
Somehow, my work ethic has gone from being a positive thing to being a Simon Legree kind of task master. No matter how much I try to meet the self-made “to-do” list I cannot accomplish it.
This came to full bloom on Saturday as I tried to get out of the house and on the road. I was looking around the house and thinking of all that needed to happen to make it “perfect” before I left. I called my mom and when I heard the kindness in her voice I lost any composure I had left. She listened, encouraged me, made me laugh, and gave me “permission” to leave what needed to be left and get on the road. I spoke with my brother too, who said, “Perfect went out the window weeks ago.”

The word part “super” means “over and above.” So Superman was literally and figuratively “super.” I am not. I am finite, human, breakable. But my God is not. Let me say that again, But my God is not.
Yesterday at our new church, the song by Chris Tomlin, Our God is Greater, came to mind. I love it when I get this kind of encouragement.

Our God is greater, our God is stronger,
God you are higher than any other.
Our God is Healer, Awesome in Power, Our God! Our God!
Our God is greater, our God is stronger, God you are higher than any other.
Our God is Healer, Awesome in Power, Our God! Our God!

I am finite, God isn’t, and that is why I don’t have to be super or perfect. God already is.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

