Being and Doing

My family and I have been looking for housing for the past week. Everyday we go online and do a search, drive around in neighborhoods we think we’d like to live in, looking for “for rent” signs. We’ve contacted numerous landlords, but we’ve had only a handful return our calls. We’ve had a couple very good leads, including one that was “perfect” and they would take our dogs too, but then she called a couple hours after our walk through to say she went with another renter.
Add to this, my anxiety and restlessness from things I left unfinished when we moved, and it would be easy to understand why I only get a few hours of sleep at night.
The struggles and trials we are experiencing seem to be insurmountable. Yet, I know the truth. God is able to handle this situation too.
In Exodus 14 the Israelites, newly freed from slavery, arrive at the Red Sea. News comes quickly that the Pharaoh and his army with chariots are coming to kill them. Naturally, they panic. Turning to Moses, they demand to know what he is going to do to keep them from being killed. Moses, who can do nothing, turns to God. “Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the Lord will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” (‭Exodus‬ ‭14‬:‭13-14‬ NIV)
God tells Moses, Then the Lord said to Moses, “Why are you crying out to me? Tell the Israelites to move on. Raise your staff and stretch out your hand over the sea to divide the water so that the Israelites can go through the sea on dry ground. I will harden the hearts of the Egyptians so that they will go in after them. And I will gain glory through Pharaoh and all his army, through his chariots and his horsemen. The Egyptians will know that I am the Lord when I gain glory through Pharaoh, his chariots and his horsemen.” (‭Exodus‬ ‭14‬:‭15-18‬ NIV)
In two moments God says to be still and to get moving. It seems contradictory, but then I realized that God is telling them– ” You can’t do this, so rest in me– I’ve got this, and in the meantime, here is something you can do- so go do it.”
Our inability to find something in one major town, led us to look in another one, which is where we would prefer to live. Within minutes of arriving in the second town, we found an apartment complex that would meet our needs for the next year.
I need to “be still” with God (Psalm 46). Trusting Him to take care of the details. I also need to be ready to move when He gives us direction.
How are you doing with stillness and action? Do you need to talk with God about it, like I do?
Ask Him to help you calm your spirit and rest in Him. He cares about you, more than you know.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

