Fateful fear

“Never let fear decide your fate.” ~Farmer’s Almanac

This summer’s crazy journey has been full of times when I could have allowed fear to keep me from doing something.
Fear could have kept me from deciding with my husband to move out of state, away from my family and friends to a place where I knew no one and had no immediate safety net.
Fear could have kept me from continuing to go forward with our move when our original housing plans fell through– twice.
Fear could have kept me from turning down a “guaranteed job” in a school (my career field), before I even had an interview at another job.
Fear could have kept me from so many little things during this adventure.

BUT GOD has proven Himself faithful again and again over the years and this new adventure was not the time to doubt Him or His abilities.

My husband had his job offer two days after we arrived, I turned down one job to be offered a different job less than 24 hours later. The second job– the one I took– has benefits, opportunity to grow within the company, and higher pay. We had an apartment lease signed in less than two weeks after our move here. God’s time table is perfect!!

Second Corinthians 5:7 says it clearly, “For we live by faith and not by sight.” I will chose to believe in the God who is greater than anything I will face, bigger than any obstacle, stronger than any entity, faithful, eternal, omniscient, omnipotent, and omnipresent. This God is the one in whom I believe, in whom I have put my trust.

Where are you putting your trust? Don’t let fear decide your fate– let your faith grow by trusting the God who said He “will never leave you or forsake you” Hebrews 13:5.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

