Always

“Oh my God, He will not delay, my refuge and strength, always, always”

Today in church, we sang Always by Kristian Stanfill and I was amazed one again by the lyrics.

In the weeks coming up to our move to Nebraska , I found myself facing conflicts, uncertainty, irrational fear, and a sense that I was in a constant state of churning. I was troubled and worried, striving to trust, but finding my faith only took me to the next step. On Sundays surrounded by fellow believers and seekers, I would cling to these words as if they were the only life line I had.

One of the lines in the song is straight from Scripture, Psalm 121, which says, “I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth” (KJV).

This song brought me such confirmation that God was with me, that I didn’t have to fear, worry, fret, or doubt. I could trust Him and the plan He had for my family; even when many seemed to question, doubt, or call us flat-out crazy to pick up and move without a visible plan in place.

Today as I stood in church singing these verses, I found myself stronger in my faith, my trust had grown deeper, my knowledge of the character of God had grown deeper as well. My God didn’t leave me, He didn’t forsake me, He stood with me, stood over me, surrounded me and blessed me beyond words– all because I was faithful to take one step at a time.

I hope these lyrics encourage you too.
Blessings.

always
My foes are many, they rise against me
But I will hold my ground
I will not fear the war, I will not fear the storm
My help is on the way, my help is on the way

Oh, my God, He will not delay
My refuge and strength always
I will not fear, His promise is true
My God will come through always, always

Troubles surround me, chaos abounding
My soul will rest in You
I will not fear the war, I will not fear the storm
My help is on the way, my help is on the way

Oh, my God, He will not delay
My refuge and strength always
I will not fear, His promise is true
My God will come through always, always

I lift my eyes up, my help comes from the Lord
I lift my eyes up, my help comes from the Lord
I lift my eyes up, my help comes from the Lord
I lift my eyes up, my help comes from the Lord
From You Lord, from You Lord

Oh, my God, He will not delay
My refuge and strength always
I will not fear, His promise is true
My God will come through always, always

Oh, my God, He will not delay
My refuge and strength always, always

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

