Forgiving

One of the hardest lessons we, as believers, can learn is how to forgive ourselves. While it may not always be easy to forgive others, we tend to be hardest on ourselves when we fail to measure up, follow through, etc.
I struggle, strive, and fight within myself when I have let someone down. I was brought up with high expectations and it seemed a fate worse than death whenever I disappointed my parents. As an adult, I still find myself fighting with this sense of failure.

This one area in my life is a favorite place for the enemy to stomp around. I can recall times when I blew it as a child, the feeling of shame that I didn’t complete the task given to me, or how I felt when I had broken a rule. It weighed me down, my shoulders and head would hang low and I would look at my feet, literally or figuratively, in response to my failings.

Now, 24 years after I accepted Christ into my life, as my Redeemer, my Savior and Salvation, I find myself still battling this stupid, irritating, idea of shame. Why??? Scripture is clear “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold the new has come” (2 Corinthians 5:17, ESV). This verse is one that many new believers memorize to remind them that they are free for their past. I think that we should also memorize the verses that follow (18,19). “All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation.”

oh Heavenly Father,
Help me to forgive myself when I fail.
Somehow saying I cannot be forgiven
is like I am dismissing your great gift of Salvation.
Jesus, remind me that I am truly free, because You
Have freed me from my sins.
Jesus, help me to forgive myself, just like you forgave me.
Thank you for your amazing, wild mercies which are new every day.
I am yours Jesus. I belong to You.
Amen.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

