Whose Roots

Today the message in church was on Psalm 139. This psalm of King David’s is precious to me, especially verses 13-16; “For it was You who created my inward parts; You knit me together in my mother’s womb. I will praise You because I have been remarkably and wonderfully made.Your works are wonderful, and I know this very well. My bones were not hidden from You when I was made in secret, when I was formed in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw me when I was formless; all my days were written in Your book and planned before a single one of them began” (HCSB). The NIV translation says “fearfully and wonderfully made.”

Once more, I thought of how God says that I am His treasure; precious, prized, valued, loved, and created for a purpose. At the end of the service we sang a song that included the line “I belong to Jesus and He is mine.” I was hearing all sorts of confirmation about Whose I was and where I belonged.

My family’s roots are Swedish, German, Norwegian, and a smidgen of French. According to Scripture, because of Jesus’ redemptive work on the Cross and my acceptance of Him into my life, I am now grafted into His family tree. I am a Child of the One True King.

My roots are so much more than whether I have my dad’s eyes and mannerisms, or my mom’s smile. My spiritual roots are connected to the God who created all the earth by speaking it into being– but when it came to my creation– He formed me with His hands, like a Potter forming the clay into something of beauty and purpose.

You too, are a beautiful, precious creation; made with love and purpose for a plan so much bigger than our finite minds can ever comprehend. Don’t ever, ever, ever, ever allow the world, the enemy, or yourself, to tell you otherwise.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

