Whiners need not apply

The loss of space due to this move has been deeply felt by our 14 and 15 year old sons, who were accustomed to disappearing for hours while staying on the 160 acres we called home. There were forts to make in any number of trees, rafts to float on the pond, you name it. If Tom or Huck would have come up with it, the boys probably did too.

Today we went to a farm supply store near us, just to see what they had and for me, to dream a bit about our future farm here in Nebraska. I was met with complaining faces, not the words, they know better. The boys do understand that this is temporary, but every now and then, the uglies show up.

Contrast that with this– I came home to find a missionary update letter from a dear friend whose family feels the pull to Africa. They are preparing to serve the street children of Ethiopia and show them the love of Christ. The letter put it so clearly– they were willing to give up so much because there are those who need to know they are precious to God.

And why am I whining? What do I have to complain about??? Stuff is just that– stuff. Sure, I cannot remember if something I am looking for is in Illinois or Nebraska. Half the time, I can picture where it used to be, but not where it is now. My inconvenience is just that– inconvenient. It isn’t the life altering, 8,000 mile change my friends will experience.

So, with my attitude completely in check, I will remember that patience is only grown by being stretched. To my dear friend who is doing it afraid, I am proud to pray for your family. God is going to do amazing things through you, and He already is while you are still here in the States.
Thanks for the perspective adjustment.

IMG_0771.JPG

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

