Love and marriage

This weekend my husband and I will celebrate our anniversary. When we got married, our wedding verse was 1 Corinthians 2:9 which says, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived, what God has planned for those who love Him–“ I had no idea how this verse would come to fruition.

Through Faith in God and His plan we have weathered many storms, experienced amazing blessings, had two incredible sons, and lived in six different homes in three different states. We have lost family members, gained family members, and learned to love each other more and more.

If we hadn’t had our faith we wouldn’t be where we are now. As much as we love each other, some of the storms we’ve gone through were only possible to survive because of God’s goodness and faithfulness.

As I look at our sons, now teenagers, I think about their futures and their potential marriages. Since they were very small I have prayed for their future wives and marriages.

My heart for our sons is that they will seek God first, growing deeper in their relationship with Him before they seek out their wives. Believing that God already knows who my future daughters-in-love will be, it matters more for the boys to become the right kind of husbands, rather than to seek the “right” wives.

I think of my hubby, who was so Christ-like to me when we were engaged. My husband loved me before I loved him, he waited for me to receive his love, he focused on our future together–not my past, he sacrificed for us, instead of demanding I sacrifice for him. He really was and still is– a servant-leader in our home.

Happy Anniversary sweetheart. I love you more.

IMG_0590.JPG

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

