Honesty

I called my mom the other night to catch up and see how things were going “back home.” I also had a confession to make about something I was struggling with as well. The distance from family has made me jealous for the relationships I left behind. I have been fighting the struggle of believing that I would be replaced somehow. One of the more irrational things I have ever thought, for sure.

My mom, a wise woman indeed, acknowledged my confession but did not dismiss it. Instead, she told me that she had guessed that it was happening and that she would be praying for me.

The enemy uses jealousy to cause us to stumble and even fall. Jealousy is what drew Eve to eat the fruit, Joseph’s brothers to throw him in a well, and the Pharisees to turn against Jesus. Jealousy is an ugly thing.

Honesty, however, keeps jealousy from entangling us. When we speak the truth about how we feel, we prevent the emotions from binding us. Secrets are the enemy’s favorite ammunition to divide us. He uses secrets to keep us from community, to make us think that no one else would understand how we feel.

We, as believers in Christ, must recognize our need for community. For honest communication, for someone who will hear us clearly, acknowledge our issues, and hold us accountable to change– even walking with us through that change.

I am reminded of a song by Michael Card which says, “And the call is to community…” We need each other. We need to be honest about ourselves and we need to help each other. That is the community we are called to have as believers (see Acts 2).

So, what do you need to be honest about? Who do you need to talk with about your heart? Don’t put it off, join the community.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Honesty

  1. Binki says:

    Your posts are so inspiring. Thank you Gretchen, for your openness & your willingness to share your heart for the Lord!

Leave a Reply

