Joy’s well

As a child I remember singing a chorus that said,

“I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart
Where?
Down in my heart!
Where?
Down in my heart!
I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart
Down in my heart to stay.”
 

It was a fun song to sing, but the Theology behind the song never came up.  How in the world was I going to keep the “Joy” and “Love of Jesus” down in my heart?  How was I going to make it stay?

Twenty-four years after I accepted Christ, I can honestly say it isn’t easy.  So many things make me sad, shake my faith, challenge my beliefs, and even make me wonder what is God up to?  Friends lose loved ones, children suffer terrible tragedies while their parents watch from the sidelines, horrific events happen worldwide.  How can I find joy and keep it?

Nehemiah 8:10 says, “This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.”  In other words, God is the source of our Joy.  We don’t have to generate it by ourselves.

Time with God–even five minutes of sitting quietly– can make a difference.  Playing Christian music on the radio as you drive to work can help you find joy.  Talking with someone who is older and wiser, about your sadness or sorrow– someone who will listen, might help.  Walking around in nature, whatever you find fills your cup, will help you find Joy.

Most importantly, ask God to help you find Joy again, if you have lost it.  He is the best at Hide and Seek— after all He found you.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

