Scandalous

When I reflect on the last two decades that I have been a believer, I am amazed at the depth of God’s love for me. I don’t deserve it and yet He gave it to me. That is the definition of grace actually. According to the New Oxford American Dictionary grace is defined as, “the free and unmerited favor of God, as manifested in the salvation of sinners and the bestowal of blessings.”

Jesus came to Earth for the specific purpose of paying our debt. The debt Adam and Eve’s sin required payment for by a blood sacrifice. It’s not pretty, it certainly isn’t something I want to dwell on. But that’s just it. Jesus said, “I’ll do it. I — who have never sinned– will pay the penalty with my own blood, so that all of humanity will have the opportunity to be cleansed and freed from the sins, the addictions, the hurt, the anger, the pain, all of it. I will give my life.

John 10:10 says, ” I have come that they may have life, life to the full” or “abundantly” depending on the translation. Jesus is so in love with us, we matter so much to Him. He doesn’t want us to have a life that is mediocre, a life that we “just get through.” He came that we may chose to have a wild life, a life unlike anything we could ask or imagine. We can have a life full of joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. A life that encourages others to seek that same Joy-giver, Peace maker, Jail-breaker—Jesus.

That the God of the Universe, who spoke everything into being, but created man with His very hands, who loves us so much that His son died in our place– that He desires a relationship with me, with you, with everyone in the world– blows my mind. It’s scandalous.

This Grace that Jesus offers us through a relationship with Him when you really, truly, experience it, there are no words. Twenty-four years after I received it I still find myself overwhelmed to tears. How could this God love me so much?? Doesn’t He know all the mistakes I’ve made? The things I’ve done? The sins I’ve committed? The anger? The hate? The hurt I’ve caused? Doesn’t He know???

Scripture says, yes. “But God demonstrated His own love for us in this: While we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8). It says it all right there in Romans. God loved us first. He didn’t wait for us to love Him, or to become “perfect.” No, it says while we were messy, broken, ugly, nasty, shattered people He saw us as we could be, as we would be through his Son, and He loved us.

That is truly scandalous.

This Is Amazing Grace

Who breaks the power of sin and darkness
Whose love is mighty and so much stronger
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Who shakes the whole earth with holy thunder
Who leaves us breathless in awe and wonder
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Chorus:
This is amazing grace
This is unfailing love
That You would take my place
That You would bear my cross
You lay down Your life
That I would be set free
Jesus, I sing for
All that You’ve done for me

Who brings our chaos back into order
Who makes the orphan a son and daughter
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Who rules the nations with truth and justice
Shines like the sun in all of its brilliance
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy is the King who conquered the grave
Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy is the King who conquered the grave
Read more at http://www.songlyrics.com/phil-wickham/this-is-amazing-grace-lyrics/#UIxUEGFpZjjS2rl1.99

My chains are gone, I’ve been set free
My God, my Savior has ransomed me
And like a flood His mercy reigns
Unending love, amazing grace
My chains are gone, I’ve been set free
My God, my Savior has ransomed me
And like a flood His mercy reigns
Unending love, amazing grace

Read more: Chris Tomlin – Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone) Lyrics | MetroLyrics

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

