Nothing

My parents became believers in the 1970’s. The Contemporary Christian music scene was just beginning and the Gaither Trio were a large part of it. My mom made a point to pour God’s truth into my brother and me. The Gaithers knew it was important too, and made albums for children to teach them of their value and worth in God’s plan.

When I became a believer in my early 20’s, the first Christian albums I turned to were the albums from my childhood. Music Machine, Bullfrogs and Butterflies, and all the albums I heard as a child were full of Biblical truths I finally understood.

Today as I went through my routine before work I found myself humming again. I couldn’t put my finger on the melody when suddenly a line came to mind. “You’re the only one of your kind.” I couldn’t believe it. Over 35 years later, the truths of those songs were once again coming back to me.

Isaiah 55:11 says, “ So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.” (KJV). In other words, when His word goes out, it won’t come back empty, there will always be fruit, it will always grow.

Thirty-five years ago, when my mom was playing those albums, she was planting seeds. All these years later, I still find the truth in those words. I know God made me for part of His purpose and I have a task that only I can do, no one else.

You do too.


That’s why He made you special
You’re the only one of your kind
God gave me a body and a bright healthy mind
He has a special purpose that He wants you to find
So He me something special
I’m the only one of my kind

Yes He made you something special
He made me something special
He made you something special
You’re the only one of your kind

Lyrics by Bill and Gloria Gaither

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

