f*r*i*e*n*d*s

This morning I woke to my phone ringing; it was my best friend of 30+ years, returning my call. We are part of a four-some of women who have known each other since we were in junior high.

The four of us have gone through crushes, heartaches, first loves, first kisses, serious relationships, engagements, weddings, marriages, divorces, children, and moving in and out of state. We have seen it all, done more than we will ever confess, and laughed at more inside jokes than I can count.

I love these women. We have supported each other, challenged each other, blessed each other, and grown throughout the years we’ve been together.

Dawn, Melony aka “Mel”, and Nicole aka “Mummy”, have blessed me in so many ways. I know that I can call on them whenever I need to, any hour of the night or day, and they will be there for me. If the distance is too far to drive, they will be there on the other end of the phone offering whatever they can.

Who has stood by your side during your darkest nights and lightest days? When you have received that call from a friend in need, what did you do? How many times have you stood with your friends while they have faced hardship? How many times have they stood by you?

Scripture says, “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.” (Proverbs 17:17) I cannot imagine my life without these amazing women. I am so much stronger, more confident because of them. They know my weaknesses, speak truth even when it’s hard, and they know I love them right back just as much.

Who do you do life with? Who are you blessing and who is blessing you?

Tell them what they mean to you. Write a letter, post a comment, send a text, tell them. It may be the very encouragement they need today.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

