Double-standard

As the political season ramps up to Election Day here in my state, the critical, mud-throwing ad campaigns have seemed to have ramped up as well.

“He said this., “she said that., “can you believe this candidate wants to do away with this program or that program.” It gets ugly. But, it also reminded me of the many ways I judge people or other people judge me.

Being new to my area means I have a clean slate, but I also don’t have people who know my story and understand where I base my beliefs and views. The comment from my co-worker for example, was taken more deeply than she may have intended because of the way I am wired.

We as believers run the risk of turning off non-believers because we criticize the way they live their lives, vote, have relationships, etc. How can we hold non-believers to a Holy Standard when they have no relationship with the One who set the standard?

It is a dangerous line to walk when we expect those who don’t know the Amazing Grace we have found (and that found us) to change their behavior, make healthier decisions emotionally, spiritually, etc, or even attend church on a regular basis.

We as the Church are called to be a light and to be salt (Matthew 5:13-16), but if we are too salty with our desire to “save” the non-believer by pointing out their faults, we will turn them off to Jesus. Too many people are turned off already.

See Matthew 7:3-5, Romans 3:23, Romans 5:8, and Ephesians 2:8-9 for more reflection.

Let us strive to share Jesus but remember He never condemned the lost, He found them where they were, loved them as they were and drew them up to who they would be through His Amazing Grace.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Double-standard

  1. C.J. Penn says:

    Yep. Jesus calls us to be “witnesses” for Him, not fault-finders.

Leave a Reply

