in and out

I am reading the book Forgotten God by Francis Chan, author of Crazy LoveForgotten God  is about the third part of the Trinity, the Holy Spirit.  I find myself being challenged, encouraged, and nodding my head in agreement with what Chan says in the book.  We seem to forget the Power we have within.

The “new” church begins in Acts 2 with tongues of fire (Acts 2:3) signifying the filling of the Holy Spirit in the disciples and other believers in the upper room of Jerusalem.  Somewhere we have lost sight of the Power we have inside.

I have mentioned that I have felt frustrated and beaten up emotionally lately.  I realized that Fear was creeping into my Spirit again.  Where is my Power from the Holy Spirit?  Where is my Faith?  I have forgotten Who resides inside.

First John 4:4 says, “You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.” (NIV)

If the Holy Spirit, Who is inside of me, is greater than the enemy who is out in the world, than I need to live like it.

“The Lord challenges us to suffer persecutions and to confess him. 
He wants those who belong to him to be brave and fearless. 
He himself shows how weakness of the flesh is overcome by courage of the Spirit. 
This is the testimony of the apostles and in particular
of the represesntative , adminstrating Spirit.
  A Christian is fearless.”
~~Tertullian
 

It’s time to live with a fearless Faith.

 

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

