Training

I live with two teenage boys. I look at them when they are sleeping sometimes and think, “where did all the time go?” When the boys were little random people would tell my husband and me, “Enjoy them now, while you can.”

I remember thinking, “What do you mean ‘while I can’. They will be my babies forever.” Haha. Foolish thinking from a sleep deprived mom. Fast forward fifteen years. My “babies” are now in their final years in the “nest.”

My mind wanders… Did I teach them enough? Will they be ready when they go off to college? Have l taught them enough skills to survive on their own? Will they remember how much I love them? Will they remember it’s important to keep Christ as a priority, not just a “get-around-to-it” item on their to-do list?

Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it.” (Proverbs 22:6). It is my prayer for my kids to know Who God is, how God can move in their lives, that God’s plan is always the best plan. There is so much I pray for them, especially now when I feel the time clock winding down.

Scripture says that the Word of God will never come back void. I cling to this truth when my teenager gives me that look that says, “Oh Mom, did you really just ask that?” and somehow I think that I have blown it.

There are some great books for praying for your kids, the most popular one is Power of a Praying Parent by Stormie Omartian. I have used this book again and again over the years for my boys. My prayer is that when my boys are husbands and fathers they will continue to train up their own children the same way I have tried to train up mine.

There is a chorus from my childhood that often comes to mind when I think of my boys, it was written by the Gaithers.

“Dear Jesus, please make us more patient and kind, and help us to be more like you. And make room for all other children of yours for they are still growing up too.” .

This is my prayer as a parent and for my children.

Kids Under Construction by Bill and Gloria Gaither

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

