Not perfect

When Adam and Eve chose to not trust God in the Garden of Eden, God could have dusted His hands of the situation and left them to their own devices.

But He didn’t.

Even in their sin, even in their broken relationship, God offered a way for them (and us) to be redeemed. He told Eve that through her a child would be born that would crush the serpent’s head. (Genesis 3:15).

God’s love for Adam and Eve was greater than His disappointment them. It is the same thing for us. God loves us more. (John 15:13).

But God demonstrated His own love for us in this: that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8). I love the truth and promise in this verse. I didn’t have to be perfect before God would love me.

Before accepting God’s amazing grace I was a broken, lonely girl who had bought the lie that I only deserved the destructive treatment of others. I believed that I was never going to be treated as a precious, prized, valued and loved treasure by anyone.

Then someone explained the Truth of God and how God knew I would never measure up to His holiness–and I wasn’t supposed to measure up. Jesus had to fill the gap. And He did.

Jesus gave His life to cover my sins, my shame, my brokenness to make me whole. I didn’t ask Him to do that for me, He loved me so much He volunteered to do it.

Every time I take Communion: eating the bread, drinking the wine (grape juice), I think of this love God/Jesus had for me.

Recently it was pointed out that the Passover Lamb was not served at the table at the Last Supper because He was sitting at the table. Jesus would give His life as the ultimate Passover Lamb. That’s why He said, “It is finished.” (John 19:30).

I don’t have to do more, get better, be perfect, grovel, do penance… My sins have been covered by His sacrifice.

And so I sing….

“Oh praise the One who paid my debt,
And raised this life up from the dead,
Oh praise the One who paid my debt,
And raised this life up from the dead…”

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

