New paths and old trails

“There comes a time in everyone’s life when you just have to get out.” (Under the Tuscan Sun (c) 2003 Buena Vista Pictures).

I love this movie, not just for the evolution of Diane Lane’s character, Frances, but for the house. At this pivotal moment, Frances realized what she had been doing was no longer enough; it wasn’t fulfilling her and she needed to change her scenery and to get another perspective.

This is how I feel with my quiet time, lately. I cannot seem to “get into” the devotionals I have used for years. I still want time with God; where we are alone together, but the path I have used is too familiar. I know what I will see before I turn the corner, I know what the words say well enough to skim them over instead of letting them sink into my skin.

So what to do? What do you do when you find yourself too familiar to be set ablaze by the Holy Spirit anymore? I take a page from Diane Lane’s character, I change my perspective. I put a new CD in the player, one I may be familiar with, but haven’t listened to in a while. I find a new book to read, an author I have heard of, but have never read. Or I change where and when I have my quiet time.

Why the change? Complacency is a dangerous tool of the enemy. The more complacent we become the more likely we are to stop engaging with the Holy Spirit. “I’ve always done it this way/that way” becomes our mantra, instead of “Holy Spirit take control, take my body, mind and soul- put a finger on anything that doesn’t please you, anything I do that grieves you, Holy Spirit take control…

If I am seeking God, Who is truly seeking me, then I need to find new pathways to Him if the old ones don’t work anymore.

I don’t want to grow cold, I want to burn. With the Light of Heaven, the Light of the World, blazing a trail all the way.

Don’t let my love grow cold
I’m calling out, ‘light the fire again.’
Don’t let my vision die
I’m calling out, ‘light the fire again.’

You know my heart, my deeds
I’m calling out, ‘light the fire again.’
I need Your discipline
I’m calling out, ‘light the fire again.’

I am here to buy gold
Refined in the fire
Naked and poor
Wretched and blind, I come
Clothe me in white
So I won’t be ashamed
Lord, light the fire again!

(C) 1994 Mercy /Vineyard Publishing
Lyrics by Brian Doerksen

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

