breathing

As I scrolled through my Facebook feed today I read post after post that mentioned being overwhelmed, having prayer concerns, needing/seeking direction or a hunger for peace in the midst of turmoil. With each post I felt my spirit grow more and more heavy.  I prayed for them, as well asking God to touch each dear ones’ heart with His perfect peace (Philippians 4:6-7).

This feeling of being overwhelmed makes it hard to breathe.  The weight of the concern seems to push out the ability to release the worry.  It reminded me of getting a tattoo.  When I had my last tattoo done, the tattoo artist reminded me to breathe.  I hadn’t noticed that I was holding my breath, but I was.  He reminded me that by holding my breath I was not allowing my body to release the toxins that were building up in my blood system.  For every regular breath I took and exhaled, I found myself more and more able to relax.

We as believers, are called to release the trouble to God.  We have even made it into a catch-phrase, “Let go, let God.” While it may seem like a trite answer to someone who is struggling, it is the truth.  We need to let go.  We need to release the fear, doubt, worry, shame, concern, and anger to God.  He is waiting to work in our lives, but we need to let Him have the things that are weighing us down.

Corrie Ten Boom (1892-1983) once said, “You will find that it is necessary to let things go; simply for the reason that they are heavy.”  When we release the troubles we face into the hands of God, we can breathe more easily.  God is a faithful God, He will be there for us as we go forward in life.  We may face surgery, job loss, loss of loved ones, struggles and trials.  But He is there.

All we have to do is breathe in His presence and breathe out our troubles.

“My words come from an upright heart;
my lips sincerely speak what I know.
 The Spirit of God has made me;
the breath of the Almighty gives me life.”
Job 33:3-4

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to breathing

Leave a Reply

