Pushing and shoving

I am re-reading a wonderful book by Margaret Becker called Coming Up for Air (c) 2006, NavPress.  The idea of Coming Up for Air is about re-evaluating life, what is important, who is important and adjusting accordingly to make room in life for them.  As I read today I realized I was missing some of the very things she was missing.  Community–true community.  While I have community on Facebook or in church, or even at work, it is not the true community to which we were created to belong.

I realized I have been pushing and shoving people away, keeping them at arm’s length.  I allow them close enough to see me, but not close enough to truly know me.  I think this has come to the forefront for me since we moved.  My dearest friends are far away in other states and I have to start from scratch– again.  I am unsure, not feeling very safe, and I think I would rather hold someone far enough away that I don’t have to worry about being hurt if they don’t like me back.

I don’t write this as a “woe is me, I have no one to call” statement.  I write this as a declaration– I desire to know and be known by those in my present location.  I want to have a friend here to have coffee with on a Saturday. I want to learn about someone and grow with them on their own journey.  So, knowing that God didn’t create us to be lone ranger on our faith journeys, I choose to engage.

I choose community.  I chose to know and be known.  To make new laugh lines, to learn new stories from other people.  To learn new ideas and be challenged and encouraged.

What about you?  Are you part of a community or trying to live as a lone ranger?  How are you chosing to be a part of a group of people who will love you and challenge and encourage you?

Read Acts 2 for some direction and help if you are unsure what true community looks like from God’s point of view.  Be encouraged, it can happen.

Hello, my name is Gretchen. What is your name? 

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

