Hope!

Hope is one of those words that just by saying it, I feel a bit better inside.  My heart is lighter, my outlook is more positive and I feel like things are no longer impossible.

The book of Isaiah is full of situations where the Israelites seem without hope and that they are destined to die in captivity because of their sin. Then comes the verse in Isaiah 49, “Those who hope in me will not be disappointed.” (verse 23).

Disappointment can be almost debilitating if one stays focused on the negative outcome of a situation. When one focuses on God– who He is and what He has done in the past, then the whole perspective is changed.  The situation may not have changed, but how one looks at the situation has changed.

Unemployment, loss of a loved one, broken marriages, loss of relationships, or even a home can challenge a person’s faith.   In all of the experiences my family has had over the years I still can lean on God.  I know He is the God of the Universe.  He made the mountains and carves out the sea with His hands.  I know He is capable of walking alongside of me, even in the most devastating circumstances.

Isaiah 43:1, 2, and 4 talks about how I belong to God and that I am precious in His sight.  All of these qualities in God’s character remind me that hoping in Him is something I can do with confidence.

He promises I will not be disappointed, He will not fail.  Hope is the rope I hang onto — no matter my situation– but especially in trouble.  What do you hang onto?

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

