must have

As we enter into the official holiday shopping season, with the “must have” of the season being shown on TV, I find myself stuck.  I am not one to care for the shiny kitchen items, the new furniture “to get ready for company”, or that “one of a kind” piece of jewelry that will show me how much my husband loves me.  I don’t need those things.  Sure they are nice, but I don’t need them.

I have a home with my family, it’s warm, there is food in the fridge, I have clothes in the closet.  I have more than one winter coat.  I am content.  My “must have” of the season is time with my husband.  No special trip, just uninterrupted time to sit with him on the couch and watch a movie or our favorite show.  I would like to spend more time with my sons, who are growing too quickly.  I want to hear them tell me their dreams, their ideas, what they like and dislike.  I want them to know how much their dad and I love them.  How we are proud of them and who they are becoming.

Another must have of the season would be time with my extended family and my husband’s extended family.  Not a holiday gathering, but some real time to just sit down and listen to each other.  Too few moments have been spent really knowing the heart of the person we claim as family.

My final must have of the season is for those who have no family and no one to care for them. My heart hurts to see the homeless sitting on benches under worn and tattered blankets, striving to keep warm in the biting winds.  Do they know how precious they are in their Father’s eyes?  Do they have something to eat?  Something to keep them warm?  A place to sleep?  I continue to do my part, sharing the extra that I have with them, but it feels like it’s not enough.

Oh Heavenly Father, may we love those who seem unlovable,
care for those who have less,
encourage those who are lacking courage,
and share the love of Christ– truly share it– all year long.
Amen

 

The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.'” (Matthew 25:40)

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

