without effect

As I walk around my new hometown I often see the same people.  I do not know their names, but we smile in acknowledgement and continue on our route.  While I have always been friendly with others I meet, now that I am walking on my Faith journey I find that I see them with new eyes.

I watch their gait, the way they carry themselves throughout their routine.  Do they seem happy, discouraged, do they seem distracted? As we pass I may pray for them that God would show up in their lives in a palpable way.  My heart yearns for them to experience the amazing love God offers.  I don’t mean the sappy, sweet, warm fuzzies that many portray God as offering.  I mean the true love, the kind that comes from walking through highs and lows in life and keeps by your side through the end.

The Grace that God extended to me is that Grace that God extends to them, and to you. I know what it means to struggle with questions of self-worth, value in the world around me, and recognition of my purpose.  I know what it is to survive abuse and come out stronger on the other side.  I have experienced the unexpected loss of loved ones and those who are dear.  I have come through these experiences because of the Grace of God.  He has held me as I cried, soothed my troubled soul, and collected my tears.

When I see those around me, I wonder.  Do they know this kind of Love and Grace?  Will these see it in me?  Will they recognize the Grace of God in me?  Not for my glory, but for His.

And so I pray, “But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace to me was not without effect.” (1 Corinthians 15:10)

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

