Wet feet and weeds

Many of us are familiar with the story in Matthew 14 where Jesus walks of water and Peter calls out to join Him. I have heard many teachers and pastors teach on how we are like Peter, life will go much better when we keep on our eyes on Jesus. It’s the times when we want to step out in faith, but fear we will fail, that resonates with me.

Fear has recently reared its nasty head in my life again. Fear is like that resilient weed I think I have pulled out completely, but all of its roots didn’t come out. So it grows again. I don’t notice it at first, but eventually I find myself fully entangled in the creeping vine of fear.

Sometimes I allow myself to be pulled down, dragged down by the “what ifs” and that “what will they say” or “what if they don’t like me?” questions that swirl in my head. Other times I recognize my situation and I pull free and denounce the fear.

What I really want to do though, is step out in faith. I want that Fearless Faith I talked about before. I want to see the troubles as temporary because from Heaven’s perspective they are temporary. I want to walk on water.

Heavenly Father,
My heart needs you. My feet are failing me.
You are calling me to bigger and greater things
during my journey and I don’t want fear to keep me from them.
Jesus, call me out, call me out on the water.
Give me the courage to get wet feet.
Amen.

This is my prayer, maybe it needs to be yours too. Blessings.

When fear assails, when darkness falls, I find my peace in Christ alone. Here in the Power of Christ I’ll stand.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wet feet and weeds

Leave a Reply

