Mulligans

I strive to not have regrets. I don’t mean living with a “take it or leave it” attitude, I mean living with care and striving to live with kindness. I don’t always succeed. Sometimes I fall flat on my face and blow a potentially good experience by a bad rash decision.

This morning I was reviewing something I wanted to “do-over” or call a “mulligan” on when I heard the words of James, Jesus’ half-brother from James 4:6, “But He gives us more grace.”

Ahhh.

If Jesus gives us more grace, then I need to give myself more grace. Not because I deserve it, that’s the opposite of what grace is, grace is getting what you don’t deserve.

I don’t deserve it, but boy do I need it. For myself and to extend it to others.

Like a deep cleansing breath, I take in the grace I need so desperately, but don’t deserve. And I exhale all the negative thoughts, regret, and even anger I feel. No one deserves that either.

More grace, more grace, more grace. Don’t we all need more grace?

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

