Grateful Responsibility

This year is the first year we will not be spending Thanksgiving gathered around a table with multiple family members to give thanks. I will miss tossing rolls to my brother across the table or listening to the silly giggles of my young nephews when they goof around with my boys.

I think about the Thanksgiving meals I’ve shared with family in years past. The times we gathered at my grandparents with cousins, uncles, aunts, to eat turkey and pumpkin pie. We would watch football games and play board games. The women would wash the dishes and spend quality time together in the kitchen. Afterwards, we’d take a walk as a family to “let the food settle.”

I think of times we gathered at my in-laws, spending time getting to know their traditions and stories. I learned numerous card games and board games that we have adapted into our own game rotation.

I also think of the men and women I pass on the corners downtown. Those who have no family, no one who knows their stories, who can laugh at inside jokes, no one with whom to break bread. No one to tell them they are precious and prized and valued and loved and treasured above all things. When was the last time they were hugged? Listened to? Encouraged or blessed by the relationship with another person?

My gratitude list is simple:
I am grateful for my life.
Those who I love,
Those who love me
Those who know me.

My responsibility list is simple too:
to love others as the hands and feet of Jesus.

May this year my hands and feet bring a spirit of gratitude to those around me. Not because I am good at it, but because He is Good through me.

IMG_2312.JPG

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

