I declare

As a new believer, I found myself listening to Christian music with an intensity and hunger. The words were like a salve over my brokenness and regret and they encouraged me to know someone else felt the same way I did.

About five years after I started my Faith journey I heard a song that resonated with me in ways I still cannot fully describe. Hillsong Church in Australia was just starting to have their music sung in churches in the United States. One of the first songs I heard was “I Will Never Be the Same Again” from the album Shout to the Lord. I was riveted by the idea that I could make a declaration about my faith like the one in the song.

My church at the time hosted a conference and Darlene Zschech (pronounced check) from Hillsong Church came to lead worship. It was then that I knew I would make the same declaration. I knew I wanted to stand apart from my past, separated like wheat from the chaff, marked as a follower of Christ.

I recently learned the Darlene has been declared cancer free after a bout with breast cancer. The first thing I thought of besides, “Praise God” was the song I heard so many years ago.

May these words encourage you to make your own declaration. Blessings.

I will never be the same again,
I can never return, I’ve closed the door.
I will walk the path, I’ll run the race
And I will never be the same again.

I will never be the same again,
I can never return, I’ve closed the door.
I will walk the path, I’ll run the race
And I will never be the same again.

Fall like fire, soak like rain,
Flow like mighty waters, again and again.
Sweep away the darkness, burn away the chaff,
And let the flame burn to glorify Your name.

There are higher heights, there are deeper seas,
Whatever you need to do, Lord do in me.
The Glory of God fills my life,
And I will never be the same again.

Fall like fire, soak like rain,
Flow like mighty waters, again and again.
Sweep aways the darkness, burn away the chaff
And let a flame burn to glorify Your name.

Fall like fire, soak like rain,
Flow like mighty waters, again and again.
Sweep away the darkness, burn away the chaff,
And let a flame burn to glorify Your name.

I will never be the same again,
I can never return, I’ve closed the door.
I will walk the path, I will run the race
And I will never be the same again.
And I will never be the same again.
And I will never be the same again.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

