Tendrils and truth

Fear

It wraps around like gentle tendrils, soft whispers in my ear– questioning my acts and drawing me to inaction.

The fear grows, the tendrils grow thicker, stronger, slowly making me immobile. I can no longer move in freedom. My arms and hands are pinned to my sides as I resign my fate to never walk upright– instead, I will always be bent over- afraid to face my journey, to look it in the eye.

Fear grows and grows, taller, thicker, like the briar bushes around Sleeping Beauty’s castle. It has overwhelmed me. I can no longer see clearly, I can only see the fear as it grows over me.

I believe I want to be free- I believe it, but do I want it badly enough to break free from the tangles and the thorns?

My heart whimpers for hope. The cry grows little by little. The more my lungs fill with air to cry out in hope, the more my body pushes against the vines of fear.

The stronger the cry for hope, the stronger the Spirit becomes, the more the tangles weaken.

Until finally, with deep gulping breath, lungs filled to capacity, the Spirit cries out like the Shofar sounding– HOPE!

And with that– the bonds are broken. The vines crack and crumble to the ground like so much dried tinder. No longer fed by fear, the vines die.

Instead, hope grows strong in the human heart. There is life and it’s worth walking by Faith. Not trembling in fear.

Jesus has given me strength to continue.

With the Sword of Truth–the Word of God– I will cut through the whispers of fear- the tendrils — before they have the chance to grow. I will cling to the Rock of my Salvation.

On Him alone, I will stand– not cower. I am the victor because of Jesus’ victory.

“The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” (Psalm 18:2 ESV).

Amen.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

