hearts

I’ve been thinking a lot about the content of my heart lately.  When I am rested it is easy to find joy and encouragement in it.  When I am tired, sick, or sad, my heart has some pretty ugly contents.

As I have mentioned before, this season is one of joy and celebration, but for some, it is full of sadness, loss, and loneliness.  Mathew 12:34 says, “Out of the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks.” Some of the people I speak with in my customer service job have a lot of crabbiness in their heart.  It is evident in the way they begin speaking with me, but it doesn’t have to be the way they finish speaking with me.  I strive to encourage them as I discuss the options they have for their situation.  My goal is to leave them with a better attitude than the one they had when they started.

As I drove through town today I smiled when I saw the homeless man at the corner of P Street and 14th Street.  A young college-age woman was sitting down on the cold concrete sidewalk listening intently as he shared his story.  She was fully engaged in who he was, what he was saying.  She was showing him in her actions that the man mattered.  He had worth and purpose.  She filled his heart-cup.

There is a workman in the parking complex where I keep my truck.  Whenever I see him we share a brief friendly conversation.  He was surprised at first that I was interested in how he was doing.  Now, we exchange pleasantries as acquantainces.  I have made a point to fill his cup and he has filled mine.

We all know to drop some money into the red kettles in front of stores during this season, but we also need to drop kindness, compassion, and love into the people around us.  Their “red kettle” needs some filling too.

Wishing you blessings this season.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to hearts

Leave a Reply

