you have arrived

I had to use the GPS app on my phone to find an office today and when I pulled into the parking lot the voice on the app said, “You have arrived at your destination.”  How wonderful would it be if we could hear a voice like that when we accomplished a task, met a goal, or advanced in a position?

On my Faith journey I don’t think I have ever heard the Holy Spirit say to me, “You have arrived.”  I don’t ever recall hearing I had “arrived” and was now complete in the skills of being full of grace, or merciful, or even better– being patient.  I sometimes wonder if I ever will.

This Faith journey has been one continuous hike. Sometimes the trail is smooth, sometimes it goes up a rocky trail, and sometimes it goes into a valley.

Beth Moore once said, ” When the God who was, and is, and is to come sees us, He sees us as we were, as we are, and as we will become.” So in a way, God sees me as a brand new hiker, a seasoned traveller, and a world traveller who has hiked the Andes and Mt. Everest.

And it gives me hope.

Someday, hopefully when I am old, with lots of white hair and wrinkles, God will tell me that my trail has ended.  I will walk the last steps on the trail and finally hear God say, “You have arrived at your destination.”

Until then, I will continue to lace up my hiking boots, pick up my backpack, fill my canteen with the “Living water” and keep moving.  I don’t want to stop until I reach the ultimate destination.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

