Love came down

It is less than ten days until Christmas.  I don’t feel particularly “Christmas-y” this year– there is no snow on the ground, I haven’t watched my annual Christmas movies, or even gone Christmas shopping.  I don’t feel like Ebenezer Scrooge, but I am certainly not like Linus from the Peanuts either.

And yet, our faith isn’t based on our feelings, or it shouldn’t be.

Hebrews 11:1 says it best, “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.”

We have faith in what we cannot see, we place our hope in it.  My faith is based on that night so many years ago, when Love came down.

Jesus came as a helpless baby, dependent on his parents for protection, survival, and love.  In many ways it is the same with us.

I am dependent on God for everything.  My protection from fear, doubt, even the enemy.  I need God as I face trials, troubles, struggles, and difficulties– I would not be able to survive without Him.

I am dependent on God for love.  Not the cute Hallmark card commerical warm fuzzies kind of love, but the deep, never ending, unconditional, no-matter-how-bad-I-blew-it-today-there-is-a-new-opportunity-tomorrow kind of love.  This is the kind of love that came down from Heaven.

This is the love that came down for you and for me.

Love came down, wrapped in a baby, full of the very love and grace from Heaven itself. It is the blessing I look forward to not just in December, but all year long.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

