Settling

I am wrestling with a spirit of discontentment this morning and the more I try to make sense of it, the more agitated I become. Why, why, why, do we settle for something else when we were meant for so much more??

We settle for a guy/girl, instead of the right man/woman to be a part of our lives. Why?

We settle for a job, instead of the career we’ve dreamed about for years. Why?

We settle for a house, instead of looking for the home in which we want to grow our family. Why?

Settling comes from a feeling of fear and lack of faith. A fear something will never happen so “I may as well accept this (situation, person, job, whatever) because I won’t ever get (the better thing/person).” A lack of faith that God’s plan is the best plan for your life.

Abraham waited twenty-five years for Isaac, God’s promised child through whom an entire nation would be created. What if Abraham decided to settle for Ishmael, instead of trusting for Isaac?

What if Joseph decided to give up on God’s promise for more when he was thrown into prison?

What if my husband didn’t wait the three and a half years it took for me to say “yes” to his proposal?

Waiting for the best, instead of settling for something else, makes the statement, “I am worth more than the world says I am.”

My love, my time, my family and friends are worth more– YOU are worth more.

We are “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14). God says clearly that He “knows the plans I have for you. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11).

We quote these verses often– but do we believe them? Do we live them out loud? Do we treat others in the same way?

My Christmas presents to family and friends are often homemade. Not because I am cheap, but because when I give a present to someone I want them to see that they are worth my time, my effort, my heart. They matter to me.

I don’t want anyone to believe that they have to settle for less than what they are worth, in my eyes or in God’s eyes.

God says in Isaiah 43:4, You are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you,” He loves us. Let us show worth and value to others– not just this Christmas season, but always.

Don’t settle.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Settling

Leave a Reply

