ears and eyes

Give ear to my words, O Lord;
give heed to my sighing.
Listen to the sound of my cry,
my King and my God,
for to you I pray.
O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice;
in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch. Psalm 5:1-3

When my husband and I became engaged it was a shock to nearly everyone.  We had been best friends for seven years, talking on the phone almost every day, sending letters, packages and mixed tapes to each other.  He lived in Colorado and I lived in Illinois.  We saw each other sporadically.  Then God stepped into our situation.

After another broken heart I called my best friend (now husband) to complain, instead of listening he said with exasperation, “I don’t want to hear about someone else anymore.” I couldn’t believe it.  But he was right.  My best friend had already shared that he thought God was telling him we should get married.  I just hadn’t caught up with the plan yet.

I finally did say “yes” three and a half years after the initial proposal.  We married five and a half months later. We chose 1 Corinthians 2:9 as our wedding verse.  After our crazy adventure it only seemed appropriate to have a verse that said, “No eye has seen, no mind has conceived what God has planned for those who love him and are called according to his purpose-.”

What I love about this verse from 1 Corinthians and the verse above from Psalms is the reality that God hears us and we can hear Him— if we listen.

During Christmas and Easter we often talk about hearing God– the shepherds heard the angels when they were watching over their flocks by night, Mary heard the angels at the tomb on the first day of the week.  But what about the rest of the year?

Do we have our ears tuned to the sound of Heaven?  Do we have our eyes opened to see the amazing creation and the acts of the Creator?

Maybe for Christmas we need to ask God for new eyes and new ears to hear Him and see Him better. It will certainly change our view of the world around us.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

