clean

I can hardly believe the year is over and yet, I can hardly wait for the new year to begin.  There is something to be said about being new.

New crayons, still intact, blunt ends waiting for coloring sheets and Picasso-style drawings from kindergartners.  New sheets of lined paper waiting for numbers and words from the middle school-aged child.  Freshly fallen snow– still white, pristine, no marks, no disturbances.  All without stain, blemish, distortion.  They are all clean.  Waiting.  With anticipation. For the unknown.

And so too, are we.  If we believe it.  If we allow it.

When we allow Jesus into our lives, we allow Him to wipe away the sorrows, the regrets, the poor choices, the hurts, the aches in our souls, we have carried around like heavy burdens on our backs and in our hearts.

We become clean. We become new. (See 1 Corinthians 5:17, Isaiah 1:18, and Psalm 32:1).

As I look back on this year, I remember actions I took that ended up hurting myself or others.  I said things that were unkind, that were unnecessary, that I wish I could take back.  I think of the ways that I let fear take over when I needed to take over fear.

And now I face 365 new chances- new opportunities- to love fiercely, to live bravely, to breathe deeply, the blessed fresh scent of a new year.

My prayer is that as the New Year rings in 2015 and rings out 2014, I will embrace the truth of who I am in Christ.  I am a new creation (2 Corinthians 5:17).  I am a child of God (John 1:12). I have an inheritance in my name through Christ (Acts 20:32).  I am a daughter of the One True King.  I am free (Galatians 5:1). I am all of these things because of the Great I AM.

And so are you.

 

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to clean

Leave a Reply

