Little by little

At night, when I finally lay down to sleep, my mind runs through past events. It often begins with my mind reviewing all of the ways I should have done something better in a situation. I have mentioned this before in a post, it is a part of my anxiety. However last night, I realized that I didn’t spend as long dwelling on these things.

I have made progress. It is hard to retrain my brain, to let go of the things I cannot change, things in the past that will always be in the past. It reminds me of the Serenity Prayer.

Most of us know the first few lines, but the next few seem more profound. I am reminded that the perspective I see is finite, God’s view is infinite– seeing the past, present, and future all at the same time. When I remember that God’s ways are perfect– even when I don’t understand them– it allows me to let go even more, little by little, I am releasing what I cannot change and focusing on what I can change. May I have the wisdom to see the difference.

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.
Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is,
not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him Forever in the next.
Amen.

Amen indeed.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

