give it anyway

I may have commented on this before, but it seems to bear repeating– in my heart at least.

I am learning more and more about the way God “wired” me inside, especially since we began this crazy journey of Faith to Nebraska.  I presently work for a fast-paced, outcome-focused, results-driven company.  It helps that I have a strong work ethic built by many summer days working hard with my family.  I can dig deep, working long hours, even past the point of exhaustion, to make sure a job gets done–and done well.

However, I am learning again and again that results aren’t my focus.  It’s the process.  I enjoy the comraderie, the team work, the sharing of experiences and stories with others.  It is another aspect in my life that was hard-wired into me at a young age.  Community matters.

The issue arises then: what do you do when the place where you work doesn’t compliment the way you are wired?  Well, of course there is the standard answer of “They don’t understand you, just quit.” Which while it may be true, is that the best response? I could demand to be appreciated for my differences and for the company to make adjustments for me and my needs.  (An unrealistic option at best).

I have decided, to the best of my ability, with the gifts God has given me, to serve those around me as God would have me serve them.  To show compassion. To be understanding. To give Grace anyway.  I have seen the truth again and again, that I may be the only “Jesus” anyone sees.  Sometimes I have blown this representation, other times, I have made a positive difference.

As this year begins, I know I will not be the same by the time it ends.  I may not be at this same job when I arrive at December 31, 2015.  In the meantime, I am here and I need to serve others the right way, with the right attitude to meet their needs.

This is what I am called to do.  I am called to give Grace anyway.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

