Shhhhh

Every January I think I will begin some lofty Quiet Time routine that will set my heart and mind for the day, almost like a Bible Study resolution. Instead, I end up moving around the Bible studies, devotionals and the like, as if they are props instead of tools to help me in my Faith journey.

Today I sat down on my bedroom floor, leaned against the wall, and closed my eyes. I took slow, deep breaths, in and out, and listened. It was quiet. No background noise from the TV or a radio. Just stillness.

I sat still. Well, ok, I sat as still as I could. But I was still. The longer I kept my eyes closed the calmer I felt. Then words came to mind like, Hush, Peace, and Be still.. Almost like a mother soothing a fussy child, these words were “spoken” over me, bringing peace to my heart and spirit.

I didn’t sit there for more than ten minutes, but when I stood to continue my tasks for the day, I felt more peace than any Bible study or devotional had brought me lately.

We aren’t to base our beliefs on feelings, I know that very well. Feelings are fleeting. Faith is built on something stronger and deeper. But today, that feeling of being “centered” and in line within myself was a very good thing.

If you are finding yourself struggling with what you “always” do for your Quiet Time, maybe it’s time to change things up. Just be still (Psalm 46:10).

And may the Peace of Christ be with you…today and always.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shhhhh

  1. You were in touch with God. He spoke to your heart peace. Awesome.
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.com

Leave a Reply

