Invitations into

As my sons become more “men” and less “boys”, I find myself studying the world they will inherit.  It is unsettling to say the least.  A desensitized spirit has washed over so many, covering them like a blanket of fog and shrouding them in darkness.

Humans no longer spend time with others even when they go out to coffee, they are occupying themselves with their electronic devices while a living, breathing, valuable person sits next to them, waiting to connect.

We pass people who are in need, judging them because they are disheveled, smelly, and dirty.  When what they need is compassion, a hand of kindness, and a gift of encouragement.

We dismiss the older generations because we don’t understand their “irrational” fears, their repetitive questions, and inablity to move as quickly as we think they should.  What they really need is kindness, a listening ear, a patient heart, and a gentle touch.

We sit in the dark looking at screens with images that would shame us in bright light.  We see men and women of various ages, doing various things, that we would never admit to seeing.  We don’t realize or maybe we don’t want to realize, that these images are living breathing people, created in the image of God to be loved, protected, cared for, and treasured.  So many are part of the darkest side of our humanity– human trafficking– and we don’t want to admit we may well be helping them stay captured– because we watch the screens.

I hurt for each of these different people groups, not because I am better, but because I can identify with them.  I am hungry for deep relationships where I go deeper than the information I could read in a Christmas letter.  I long to have someone show kindness when I am at my ugliest, to have patience with me when I am afraid of the world around me.  To see me as a Child of God, not a piece, an entity that will be used for another’s gain and purpose.

How will our world know that there is HOPE, there is LOVE, their is an opportunity to CHANGE the outcome?

I keep seeing this world and I keep thinking that from the outside it looks dark, hopeless, lost, and doomed.  And then I remember.  God is here.  Right now.  He is here, in me.  In you.  He is here, waiting to be invited into the broken hearts.  The broken marriages.  The broken lives of everyone we see.

God is hereBehold, I stand at the door and knock, if any man hear my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with me. (Revelation 3:20).

We just need to invite Him in.  Into the mess.  Into the broken.  Into the hurts and pain.  There is nothing that we will ever see or experience that will shock Him, keep Him from us, or cause Him to turn away.

We just need to invite Him in.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

