scissors revisited

So, I got my haircut today.  After weeks of thinking about the cut I wanted, the why I wanted to get it cut, I walked into the salon and sat in the chair.  I explained my usual styling habit (wash and air dry) and lifestyle (low-key as much as possible) and the stylist gave her suggestions from her experience.  In the end, I have a cut that is flattering, easy to manage, and I like it.

The funny thing is, I know that by waiting and not forcing the situation by standing in the bathroom and “hacking” at my hair with a pair of shears, I was doing the right thing today.  I chuckled too, as I found a coupon in the paper for a price that was nearly five dollars less than the best price I had found for a haircut.  Had I rushed the process I would have had a cut that may have not been flattering and I would have paid more than I needed to pay.

I am smiling a lot today after this whole process. By waiting until it was the right time and my heart was in the right place (at peace-not in turmoil) I found blessings I didn’t expect.

In all of my trials, tests, journeys and times with God I keep seeing that every time, every time I trust His timing and don’t force the situation I am in, there is a blessing in the end.

I realize a good haircut isn’t as big as an answer to prayer, but I also know from experience that God rarely asks us to do the big stuff until we see that He is faithful in the small stuff.

It is out of the little steps of faith we take with Him that we build the strength to climb the mountains.  Jesus didn’t tell the disciples that they would be martyred for their faith in Him the day after they met Him.  Could you imagine their responses?  Those fishing nets and tax booths would have been returned to faster than you could say “boo.”

No, Jesus built a relationship with the disciples for three years, eating with them, traveling with them, praying, performing miracles, doing life with them, only after they had built this amazing history together did He even share with them about their future and His.

In this amazing journey of Faith we are given the opportunity to learn from Christ, to see Him move in the lives of those around us, to see He is worthy of being trusted.  Only then does He invite us “farther on and farther in” to the next steps on our journey with Him.  And He will use whatever means we need to see He is worth following.

It’s much like when Lucy first heard of Aslan in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis.  She asks if Aslan is safe, is he good?  Mr. Beaver responds, “Is he safe? Oh no, but he is good I tell you. But he is no tame lion.”

Once we learn He is good, we can learn how to follow Him further.

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to scissors revisited

  1. Sometimes, it seems that God is constantly blessing me in little blessings just so I know He is there loving on me. I enjoyed your post.
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

