here and now

I work as a customer service representative answering phones for a financial institution.  Numerous times a day I have a caller who wants to figure out what will happen with his or her account next year, five years, or even twenty five years from now.  It seems to be the habit to worry about things that may happen and yet are so far away that they may never happen.

I would laugh at the silliness of their behavior, but I can’t.  In all honesty, I do it too.  I fret, and worry, and wonder about the trajectory of someone’s actions.  If someone I care about keeps on the path he or she is on will that end in regret and sorrow?

It’s just one of the many ways anxiety and worry suck the joy right out of our lives.

In the devotional Jesus Calling by Sarah Young, the entry for today seemed to echo this style of living, “Accept yourself and your circumstances just as they are, remembering that I am sovereign over everything.  Do not wear yourself out with analyzing and planning.  Instead let thankfulness and trust be your guides through this day; they will keep you close to Me.” (February 4).  It resonated inside my heart, reminding me (again) that God has my best in mind all the time.

I found myself thinking of the passage in Luke 12,  Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? My mom used to call it “borrowing trouble.”

Corrie Ten Boom, one of my heroes, said, “Worrying is carrying tomorrow’s load with today’s strength- carrying two days at once. It is moving into tomorrow ahead of time. Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow, it empties today of its strength.” (― Corrie ten Boom, Clippings from My Notebook).

And one last nugget of wisdom comes from Rick Warren, “The more you pray, the less you’ll panic. The more you worship, the less you worry. You’ll feel more patient and less pressured.” (― Rick Warren, The Purpose of Christmas)

I wish I were able to tell the people on the phone to trust God with their future, but I am not able to do that. I do however try to bring them back to now by saying, “Let’s focus on what we can do with your account today.”

Jesus promises that He is with us every step of the way in our lives and through every moment as well.  We just need to let go of tomorrow and trust Him with today.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

