Release

I am letting go of my anger, I am letting go of my need to please others who are out only to take.  I am letting go of my sadness, my disappointment and my shame for not “measuring up” to someone’s expectations.

I have to let go of these things.  I cannot be whole or heal the broken spots in my heart and spirit if I don’t empty my hands of the junk I don’t need.

I want open hands to take hold of the Hand of the Healer, the Redeemer, the Great Shepherd, the God Who loves, Who restores.

To rest in the joy of a love that doesn’t measure me against my failings, my broken promises, a love that covers all my wrongs and all my shortcomings.  A love that wraps me up and brings all the shards and pieces that have been scattered into one whole person again.

I am reminded of a song by Chris Tomlin that I would sing with my high school students.  I used to close my eyes and let the words be spoken just between God and me. I also would choose to listen to the high school students make the song their anthem.

With this heart open wide
From the depths from the heights
I will bring a sacrifice
With these hands lifted high
Here my song here my cry
I will bring a sacrifice
I will bring a sacrifice

I lay me down
I’m not my own
I belong to you alone
Lay me down
Lay me down
Oh, hand on my heart
This much is true
There’s no life apart from you
Lay me down
Lay me down

Letting go of my pride
Giving up all my rights
Take this life and let it shine, shine, shine
Take this life and let it shine

I lay me down
I’m not my own
I belong to you alone
Lay me down
Lay me down, oh oh oh
Hand on my heart
This much is true
There’s no life apart from you
Lay me down
Lay me down
Oh oh oh
Lay me down
Lay me down

It will be my joy to say
Your will, your way
It will be my joy to say
Your will, your way
It will be my joy to say
Your will, your way, always

It will be my joy to say
Your will, your way
It will be my joy to say
Your will, your way
It will be my joy to say
Your will, your way, always

I lay me down
I’m not my own
I belong to you alone
Lay me down
Lay me down, oh oh oh
Hand on my heart
This much is true
There’s no life apart from you
Lay me down
Lay me down, oh oh oh
Lay me down
Lay me down, oh oh oh
Lay me down
Lay me down

Songwriters
INGRAM, JASON / MYRIN, JONAS / REDMAN, MATT / TOMLIN, CHRIS

 

May it be so, today and always.

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

