on confirmation, attendance, and emails

Being the parents of boys often means loud sounds, body functions, and rough-housing. I wouldn’t have it any other way– except the body functions, of course.  Now that the boys are teenagers, my husband and I are no longer accosted by little chubby arms begging for hugs. We are now the ones asking for a hug goodbye or a hug goodnight.  It’s part of the cycle I guess.

In the past few days we have been notified by the high school that the boys have been absent or tardy from class.  Having been a teacher, I know better than to blindly believe my sons would be innocent of any negative behavior at school.  They are after all, still kids– just really tall kids.

I emailed my sons’ teachers about the attendance issues and immediately received responses explaining the attendance marks.  In addition to my inquiry, our younger son’s Spanish teacher responded to my email by saying he was a great young man. Our oldest’s German teacher responded with a similar tone.

It made me smile.  It was confirmation that all the training our sons have had in their lives is paying off.  Even when Mom and Dad aren’t around the boys still choose wisely.  I know that they are not perfect, but I am encouraged by the impression they make when out in their community.

I have watched my children interact with adults, peers, and younger children and each interaction shows me that instilling the importance of others, valuing each other even when there are differences, is coming through the in the ways the boys relate to other people.

To the parent that feels like training up their child/children is a steep climb up a slippery slope– don’t lose hope. Defiant children may become strong, independent adults able to think past the “crowd behavior” around them. The bossy child may be a leader in the making. The self-centered child may become a selfless giver.

We are not set in stone by our behaviors as kids. As parents we need to keep training, keep praying, and most importantly, keep loving our children into the young men and women they will become.

After all, our Heavenly Father does that with us all the time. Scripture clearly tells us that only God knows the end from the beginning, I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say ‘My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please.’ (Isaiah 46:10 NIV).

So my prayer is that we will not grow weary, even in the trenches, but continue to build into the children God has blessed us with each day. (See Galatians 6:9 and 2 Thessalonians 3:13).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Uncategorized, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

